Diced Summer Salad/Award Thank Yous


This is a refreshing, simple dish that can be thrown together in a jiffy for a relaxing family dinner, but also looks fabulous enough to impress a gathering of guests. It’s made from deliciously fresh ingredients that’ll make these shorter summer days stretch just a little bit longer…

All you need is:

  • one ripe peach, diced
  • 1/4 cup cucumber, diced
  • kernels from 2 ears of raw corn
  • dash of chili-lime salt
  • fresh mint for garnish (a lime wedge would also look nice)

Toss the peach, cucumber and corn together and season with the chili-lime salt to taste. Transfer to a serving plate, garnish and serve. Happy eating!

And now, I’d like to take a moment to thank some amazing bloggers who’ve shared the love by nominating me for some awesome awards!

A huge thanks to Shuz of One Picture, A Million Words, for passing along the Blog on Fire Award.

Many thanks to my pal Allison over at Spontaneous Tomato for awarding me with the Liebster Blog Award.

Lots of love to Holly from Stick to Your Greens AND Shan from My Food Religion for nominating me for the Inspiring Blog Award.

Fern of The Fur Files is an absolute riot and newbie vegetarian who’s given me the Tell Me About Yourself Award. Great name for an award, don’t you think?

And finally, lots of thanks to Amy of Afternoon Popcorn Snack for passing along the Beautiful Blogger Award.

I am overwhelmed by all the accolades and am really having so much fun with this whole blog thing. Fascinating reads, great eats, stunning pics, and fabulous blogger friends. Life is good!

In an effort at consolidation, I will share three useless facts about myself and then pass these lovely awards on to some other very deserving bloggers.

Useless Fact #1: Except for in my living room with my three kids — all still too young to know how to blackmail — I do not dance.

Useless Fact #2: While an animal lover, I don’t fancy the sight of birds flocking together in the sky. It sort of reminds me of spores of bacteria and I throw up a little in my mouth when I see it.

Useless Fact #3: I can play the sax solo of Never Tear Us Apart/INXS on my alto sax.

Now for the nominations!

Peace. Love. Quinoa. Crista turns eating veggies into a full-on lifestyle. And her photos are rad too. I’m handing her the Blog on Fire Award!

The Vagabond Baker One of the coolest contexts for a blog ever. She lives in a campervan, traveling, photographing and baking in kitchens all over, including the one in her camper! I’m nominating her for the Liebster Blog Award.

The Healthy Flavor Brandi is a sweetheart and her recipes are divine. I nominate her blog for the Inspiring Blog Award.

Artcounter Elton is from my home town, Philly. Love his blog and the places (often unexpected) that he sees beauty and art. I’m passing along the Tell Me About Yourself Award to Elton.

Hip Foodie Mom And finally, this gorgeous blog with stunning photos of deliciousness is being handed the Beautiful Blogger Award.

Congratulations to all of you and blog on!

— Lauren