Frangipane Pie Slices

frangipanepieslices15I love how blogs work. My fellow food blogger Chef Ceaser reblogged one of my recipes and as I went to check out the link, I stumbled upon another recipe he had reblogged by the amazing Vegan Flavorista Personal Chef. Her recipe for Frangipane Pastry Slices  took my breath away. Such beauty, creativity and deliciousness wrapped up in a single creation. I just knew I had to make it myself.

The only differences between my recipe and that of the Vegan Flavorista are my use of soy creamer as opposed to cashew cream (my son is allergic to cashews) and pre-made, frozen pie crusts. While her puff pastry looked divine, I could not find one that was vegan at any of my local markets. All packages listed eggs as an ingredient. But I love the products over at Wholly Wholesome and so their frozen pie crusts saved the day.

This stunning recipe is so simple to make but your friends and family will think you slaved for hours in the kitchen. It plates beautifully and looks and tastes like something you’d find in a professional bakery. The options for filling your pie slices are endless but I went with the Vegan Flavorista’s suggestions and made one with frangipane (otherwise known as almond paste) + raspberry jam and the other with frangipane + good ol’ chocolate chips. The results were simply out of this world and it literally took me only 30 minutes start to finish. See for yourself!

Here’s the lineup (makes 2 pastries with approximately 8 servings/slices in each):

  • 2 frozen vegan pie crusts, thawed
  • 1, 7-oz tube frangipane
  • 4 tbsp soy creamer + extra for glazing
  • 2 tbsp raspberry jam
  • 2 tbsp vegan chocolate chips (I use Enjoy Life brand)
  • 1/4 cup raw, sliced almonds
  • 1 tbsp coarse sugar or decorating sugar

frangipanepieslicesfrangipanepieslices4frangipanepieslices2

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

In a food processor, pulse together the frangipane and 4 tbsp soy creamer until smooth.

frangipanepieslices3

Frangipane and soy creamer, blended together

Roll out your thawed pie crusts. With a pastry cutter, make diagonal slices on both sides, leaving the center intact for your filling.

Spread a layer of the frangipane mixture in the center, spreading it out evenly.

frangipanepieslices7

Next, add a layer of raspberry jam on top.

frangipanepieslices6

Begin folding the strips into the center, alternating sides like so, until it’s completely wrapped up:

Next, with a basting brush, coat the top of your pastry with some additional soy creamer. Then sprinkle some sliced almonds and coarse sugar on top.

frangipanepieslices11

Repeat this process with your second pastry, using frangipane and chocolate chips (or whatever other delicious combination you’ve concocted!).

frangipanepieslices10

Once both pastries are topped with almonds and sugar, you’re ready to get them in the oven. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and bake at 400 degrees for 15-18 minutes or until the tops and edges are golden brown.

Remove from the oven, cut into slices and serve immediately while still warm.

frangipanepieslices14

frangipanepieslices13

frangipanepieslices16

frangipanepieslices20

You can even wrap one up in parchment paper and tie with baker’s string for a sweet gift. I delivered this one to our neighbor. : )

frangipanepieslices21

Happy eating, and thanks again to Vegan Flavorista for the inspiration!

