Gluten-Free Banana Pudding Cakes

gfbananapuddingcake

I’ve made something yummy. Like really yummy. And it just so happens to not only be vegan, but gluten-free and free of refined sugars as well. I’m calling them Banana Pudding Cakes because they really are that MOIST.

This recipe was conceived the night before I was to meet one of my best girlfriends at the new Veggie Grill that has just opened in our area. Their 26th location in beautiful Corte Madera, California is right in our backyard and so we made plans to meet there for their Grand Opening. To promote this special day, Veggie Grill was giving away $50 gift cards to the first 50 people in line. My friend and I arrived around 9:15 am and were lucky numbers 13 and 14! As we waited for the doors to open at 11:00, we chatted with new plant-based friends and scoured the menu trying to decide what to order.

I made these Pudding Cakes for my friend since she has recently stricken gluten from her vegan diet due to health reasons. I used to always bake for her and so I wanted to surprise her with these while we waited in line for Veggie Grill to open. I decided to bring extras for the others who’d be waiting in line and then I figured, why not use this as an opportunity to tell people about One Happy Table? So my 8-year-old whipped up some business cards for me before leaving for school that morning. : )

OHTsagebizcard

My custom made business cards!

veggiegrillopening

Sharing my pudding cakes with my girlfriend, her husband and all the new friends we met at the Veggie Grill opening!

We all had so much fun together. I met the convener for a Vegan Meetup group here in Marin County and we became fast friends. I exchanged info with a bunch of other plant-based peeps. You know, there really is something about meeting other vegetarians and vegans. There’s an instant connection that’s undeniably lovely. It was a great day!

And so everyone loved these Banana Pudding Cakes so much that I promised to post the recipe here ASAP. Here it is, friends. Vegan, gluten-free, no refined sugars, incredibly easy to whip up and ridiculously moist and delectable. Give them a try and let me know what you think!

This recipe makes one dozen regular-size muffins (to make the square muffins pictured here, double the recipe. Square muffin tin can can be purchased here.)

  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup almond meal flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup full-fat coconut milk
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract (make sure it contains no sugar if you’re going for the refined sugar-free version)
  • 2 tbsp refined coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce

Preheat your oven to 350 and grease your muffin pan or line with parchment cases.

Mix all your dry ingredients in a large bowl until well combined. In a separate bowl, combine your wet ingredients. Mix the dry with the wet and fill your muffin tins about 1/2-2/3 full. It’s that easy! Your batter will be pretty moist but don’t worry about it; that’s the consistency it should be.

Bake in your preheated oven for 22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out with moist crumbs attached to it, but not wet batter.

These are best right out of the oven and piping hot. I enjoyed some that way and then covered the tin and left it out until morning. The muffins were still just as moist the next morning and were delicious both at room temperature or reheated.

gfbananapuddingcake5

gfbananapuddingcake4

 

gfbananapuddingcake3

gfbananapuddingcake2Happy eating!

 

 

