S’mores Cookies

Smorescookies4

It’s my girls’ birthdays tomorrow! Yes, you heard that right. They have the same exact birthday, only two years apart. We call them “twins on a slight delay.” They didn’t want a party this year and trust me, I didn’t argue. Instead, they’re each choosing an activity they want us to do together as a family, each choosing a restaurant to go to for a birthday meal, and each bringing cookies into school tomorrow to share with their friends. I thought S’mores Cookies would be the perfect thing for a Friday afternoon treat for their schoolmates. And the warm, summery weather makes them a perfect fit as well! I don’t know about you, but I’ve already roasted marshmallows over a campfire a couple of times this year!

Before I get to this delicious recipe, I just have to tell you what my soon-to-be-eight-year-old has chosen as her birthday activity. In light of her recent decision to go vegan, she has asked for us to visit Farm Sanctuary as a family. I have been wanting to visit their Orland, CA location for years now and I couldn’t be more excited. If you’ve never heard of Farm Sanctuary, check them out here. They do amazing, life-changing work and are at the fore of the animal rights movement. A day of hanging with their animal residents sounds like the perfect way to celebrate a birthday!

Okay, on to the cookies. I adapted a recipe from the awesome vegan lifestyle blog, Vegan Housewives. Check them out and prepare to be glued to your computer for the better part of the day. : )Β I added some cinnamon, crumbled graham crackers and of course, vegan marshmallows, and I had myself some meltingly good S’mores Cookies!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond or soy milk (I used almond)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 2 cups unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup graham crackers, crushed into crumbs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chunks or chips (I used Enjoy Life brand of chocolate chunks. Our local Target carries them!)
  • 6 vegan marshmallows, cut into quarters
  • 1/8 cup corn starch

Preheat your oven to 350 and line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium mixing bowl, cream together the coconut oil and brown sugar until well combined. Add in the almond milk and vanilla and beat together. The mixture will be quite wet which is okay.

In another large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the crumbled graham crackers and stir. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and beat together.

Pour the corn starch into a small bowl. Slice your marshmallows into quarters. *Note: if you can find mini vegan marshmallows, you can skip this step. But I used regular size marshmallows (Dandies brand to be exact) and so needed to cut them into smaller pieces. Place the smaller pieces into the corn starch and lightly toss so the pieces are no longer sticky. You are essentially making mini marshmallows!

Gently fold the chocolate chunks into the cookie dough and then do the same with your mini marshmallows.

Roll the dough into 1-1/2-inch balls, making sure there is at least one marshmallow at the top of each cookie. You may need to deliberately place one onto each cookie.

SmorescookiesSmorescookies2Smorescookies3

Bake for 8-10 minutes and allow to cool completely before handling. Enjoy with a tall glass of chilled non-dairy milk!

Smorescookies5Smorescookies6

Happy eating!

