Breakfast Ice Cream! (to celebrate my 200th post!)

breakfasticecream5

My Mom always tells the story of the time my brother and I were little and there was nothing in the house to feed us for breakfast. My Dad was away on business and we were about to be late to catch the school bus. She opened the fridge and there was the chocolate cake from the night before. She cut us each a slice, placed it before our wide and giddy eyes and said, “This is the only time I will ever give you chocolate cake for breakfast. Don’t you dare get used to it. Now eat up!”

So off to school we happily went. And wouldn’t you know, that just happened to be the day the school was doing a survey on student households, the data of which was to be sent on to the district offices. When my brother and I each individually got to the question: “What did you eat for breakfast this morning?” you can imagine we were utterly truthful, just as we had been raised to be by our amazing parents. Needless to say, my Mom received a call from the school later that week. : )

I wanted to give my kids that thrill of eating something decadent for breakfast. And yet I wanted it to be something I could defend should their school decide to give me a ring. This recipe is a take on my Black Sesame Ice Cream, this time with a few extra nutritional boosts to get the kids off to a great start.

Read about the seemingly unending nutritional benefits of black sesame here. Flaxseed also boasts great benefits but I always summarize by telling my kids it’s great for their brains (lots of Omega 3s)! Add in the protein and fiber of almonds and rolled oats and the nutrients and antioxidants in fresh berries and you have yourself an acceptable breakfast food, at least for a special occasion. I’d say my 200th post on One Happy Table is special enough, right?

Here’s what you’ll need:

For the ice cream

  • 2 cups black sesame seeds or powder (pulse the seeds in a food processor to make a powder)
  • one 14-oz can coconut milk
  • 1-1/2 cups almond milk
  • 1/4  cup agave or maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp guar gum or xanthan
  • 2 tsp ground flaxseed meal

For the topping

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp sliced raw almonds
  • a handful of fresh raspberries and blueberries

Prepare your ice cream machine as per the instructions. I always keep my machine’s bowl in our freezer so it’s ready to go whenever I want to make ice cream.

Combine all the ice cream ingredients in a large bowl and mix by hand until evenly blended. Place into the refrigerator for at least three hours.

In the meantime, pour the rolled oats and sliced almonds onto a baking sheet in your toaster oven. Toast until slightly golden.

When your ice cream base is sufficiently chilled, prepare it in your machine. Serve the ice cream, garnishing with the toasted oat and almond mixture and the fresh berries!

In order to serve this for breakfast on a school morning, I made my ice cream the night before and left it in the freezer in an airtight container. I also toasted the oat and almond mixture the night before.

breakfasticecream7

breakfasticecream6

breakfasticecream8

Happy eating!

