Roasted Root Jewels

roastedrootjewels2

When you have two little girls in the house, just uttering the word “jewels” gets you 100 percent of their attention. I don’t need to tell you that this flavorful, colorful dish was a huge hit with them. Our little guy gobbled it up too. Who could say no to a vibrant medley of blue, red and white baby potatoes, beets and yams, all diced up into jewel-sized treasures, perfect for the little royals seated around your table?

Now I was not always a fan of beets. My strained relationship with them began years ago, when I was about 8 years old. Our family was at a Thanksgiving party and I saw a plate of what looked like my beloved cranberry sauce, sliced into discs as if it had just been wiggled out of the Ocean Spray can. I eagerly forked up a slice and shoved it into my mouth. Alas, it was not the tangy-tart-sweetness of cranberry sauce that hit my tastebuds but the earthy, robust flavor of you guessed it… beet. I was not a happy camper. And ever since, beets have been on my list of culinary no-go’s. But a recent experiment with juicing offered me a reintroduction to the ruby red root and this time, we became friends.

Still, I like my beetroot in moderation. So they are a complement to this dish, not the main attraction. They provide just the right balance in texture and flavor when combined with the familiar baby potato and yam.

Here’s what you’ll need to get this beautiful dish sparkling on your table:

  • 1 yam
  • about 15 baby potatoes (combination of blue, red and white)
  • 1 beet
  • about 1 tbsp olive oil
  • pink Himalayan sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper

Set your oven to broil on the high setting.

Dice up your yam, potatoes and beet, uniformly small. I like to do the beet last so the red color doesn’t seep prematurely into the other ingredients. Toss the diced “jewels” in a medium-sized mixing bowl along with the olive oil until well coated.

roastedrootjewels

Pour onto a baking sheet, spreading out the jewels into a single layer. Broil until the potatoes and yams are tender and everything has taken on a golden, glistening hue. The duration of time will depend on your oven but it took mine about 10 minutes.

When the jewels have finished cooking, sprinkle the pink sea salt and grind the black pepper on top and toss lightly. Pour into a serving dish and enjoy!

roastedrootjewels3Happy eating!

