Fettuccine with Sweet Peas, Kale and Corn

fettuccine4I spent a lot of money at Sur La Table. It’s happened before and it’ll happen again. I’m not proud of it but I am happy. To thank me for my lavish spending, they gave me a complimentary one-year subscription to Bon Appétit magazine. I would’ve never purchased such a subscription on my own since the recipes and articles contained therein are geared toward omnivores who enjoy good doses of meat, eggs, cream and butter. But as I’ve leafed through the issues, I’ve found a handful of recipes that have provided me with a great starting point to create something inventive and utterly vegan.

A recipe from the May 2013 issue for Pappardelle with Arugula and Prosciutto was the basis for my first experiment. All the pappardelle I found at the grocery store contained eggs so I went for fettuccine instead. Using a white wine broth from yet another recipe (to be posted here soon) gave my fettuccine a robust but delicate flavor, not included in the original recipe. And of course I traded in the prosciutto for a fresh summer medley of shelled sugar snap peas, corn right off the cob and kale from my neighbor’s garden.

This dish is truly spectacular and is perfect for impressing guests at a summer dinner party. I served it to my family and my Dad who comes over for dinner a couple of times each week. They all loved it and the kids really couldn’t get enough. I hope it was the veggies they loved and not the white wine! : )

Here’s what you’ll need (for 8 adult servings):

For the white wine broth

  • 1-1/4 cups dry white wine
  • 2.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp salt
  • 1.5 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp Earth Balance vegan butter
  • 1/2 tbsp crushed red pepper flakes (if your family is sensitive to heat, decrease according to taste)
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 cups water

For the pasta

  • 1 lb box of fettuccine (make sure to check the ingredients to be sure it’s vegan)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp Earth Balance
  • 2 leeks (white and pale greens only) halved lengthwise, then thinly sliced crosswise
  • 1/4 cup fresh chives, chopped
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 cup kale, rinsed and coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup sweet peas (shelled from sugar snaps — if this sounds too exhausting, feel free to use frozen peas)
  • corn from one ear, shaved raw

Make your broth by bringing the wine, oil, salt, lemon juice, vegan butter, red pepper flakes, sugar, bay leaf and water to a boil in a large pot. Reduce heat and simmer while you prepare your pasta.

Cook the fettuccine in a large pot of boiling salted water until al dente. Be careful not to overcook as the pasta will break apart when you toss in the other ingredients. Really watch your pasta and drain when al dente!

Heat the oil and vegan butter in a large pot over medium heat, then add the leeks and cook until they’re softened but not browned. You will be loving the smell of your kitchen at this point. Add the drained pasta, chives, lemon zest, and 3/4 cup of the white wine broth. Cook, tossing and adding more of the broth 1/4 cup at a time until the pasta appears glossy and well-coated.

Finally, add in the sweet peas, corn and kale and toss to combine. Continue to cook over medium heat until the kale is tender but still bright green.

Hand-shelled sugar snap peas

Hand-shelled sugar snap peas

Serve piping hot and if you’d like a garnish, top with some more chives or lemon zest!

fettuccine3fettuccine2

Happy eating!

