Sugar-Free Banana Zucchini Muffins

SugarfreeBananaZucchiniMuffins3One of my biggest conundrums as a mother is what to serve my kids for breakfast. Like me, they mostly enjoy something warm, doughy and sweet when they wake up to face the day. I mean, is there anything better, really? : ) But as we all know, most of the items fitting that description are also loaded with refined sugar. I know how those kinds of things make my body feel after an hour or so, and I imagine it has the same effect on my kids as they head off to learn and play for the day. Not good.

And so I’m always looking for out-of-the-oven breakfast foods that will give my family the bakery experience without loading them up with sugar first thing in the morning. This recipe does the job. The muffins are super moist and the flavors of the banana, zucchini and coconut give them a complexity that replaces the need for excess sweeteners. Try them out and let me know what you think!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups grated zucchini (about 3 medium zucchini)
  • 2 large bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, plus a little for greasing the muffin tin
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a muffin tin with coconut oil.

In a large bowl, combine the whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon. In another bowl, mix together the grated zucchini, mashed banana, coconut oil and vanilla. Pour the wet mixture into the dry and mix until just combined into an even batter. Spoon into the muffin tin and bake for 25 minutes.

SugarfreeBananaZucchiniMuffins2

 

SugarfreeBananaZucchiniMuffinsHappy eating!

 

 

