Sweet (and Simple!) Corn Chowder

cornchowder3I could probably eat soup every day. I love sitting down to a steaming bowl of deliciousness. My favorites? Split Pea Soup, Vietnames Pho, and Sweet Corn Chowder. Yum! My version of Corn Chowder is hearty, healthy and best of all, incredibly simple to whip together. I make this two or three times a month because I always have the ingredients on hand and my family loves it. I also love that it’s all cooked in the same big soup pot so there are hardly any dishes to do afterward!

At this time of the year I use canned corn but in the summertime, feel free to use fresh ears of corn. I think the taste is even better although both versions are pretty darn good.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2-3 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 large potato, peeled and chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • one 32-oz carton of vegetable broth (you can also make homemade broth or use vegetable bouillon and water) 
  • one can of sweet corn, drained
  • 2 cups soy milk
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • coarsely ground black pepper and sea salt to taste

Heat the oil in a large soup pot. Add the garlic, onion and carrots and saute until the garlic and onions are golden. Add in the vegetable broth and potatoes and cook until boiling, then reduce to a simmer, add the corn and cook until the carrots and potatoes are tender.

Stir in the soy milk and then, working quickly, whisk in the flour until it’s evenly dissolved. Add in the garlic powder and then season with salt and pepper to taste.

When I make this chowder, I often cook it in the early afternoon and then leave it on the stove (heat off) until dinnertime. Right before we eat, I turn the heat back on to get it nice and piping hot. But by then, the flavors are all nicely mingled. I love a dinner I can make when the little guy is taking his afternoon nap and then all I have to do is heat it up again at dinnertime! Easy peasy!

cornchowder2

cornchowderHappy eating!

