Chinese-Style Beef and Broccoli

My Mom used to make this Chinese dish all the time when I was growing up. To me, it wasn’t Chinese food per se. It was just something my Mom made, right along with lasagna, tacos and meatloaf on other nights. I had no concept of “ethnic” food. Food was just food. So I remember one special evening when we all went out to or local Chinese restaurant for dinner (we hardly ever went out for Chinese since I think my parents figured, “Why pay for what we can cook so easily at home?”). I looked at the menu and exclaimed loudly, “Mom!!! They have your Beef and Broccoli here! And oh my gosh! They make your Dumplings and Fried Rice too! You’re famous!!!”

Thanks to a great product found at Whole Foods, I can recreate this classic Chinese dish and keep it 100% vegan certified. Here’s the product by the company Fry’s Vegetarian.

Here’s the ingredient list and nutritional facts.

I tend to stay away from “mock meat” alternatives in general (better to cook with unprocessed, whole foods of course) but these types of products are okay if you only use them from time to time. I probably cook with something like this 3-4 times a month.

To make this dish you’ll need:

  • 2 boxes of Fry’s Wok & Stew Strips (or similar vegan product)
  • a little oil for cooking
  • 2 crowns of broccoli, cut into florets and blanched
  • 3 mild red chiles, sliced thinly
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp agave
  • 3 tbsp water

Once you’ve blanched the broccoli florets with boiling water, set them aside. In a wok, heat the oil and then add the vegan strips, lightly frying them until they begin to brown. Add in the chiles and garlic and continue to stir-fry until they’re tender. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together the soy sauce, cornstarch, agave and water. Pour this mixture over the vegan strips/chiles/garlic and continue frying over medium-high heat until the sauce begins to caramelize. Finally, add the broccoli and gently toss it all together.

Serve hot over rice.

Happy eating!

 

 

 

