Penne with Apple-Sage Sausage, Sundried Tomatoes, Broccolini and Corn

I do my best to cook with only whole, unprocessed foods and I usually do fairly well. But for an amazing vegan sausage known as Field Roast, I am happy to make an exception. This is the best vegan sausage you’ll ever find. I find it at Whole Foods Market, as well as another grocery store in my area. It comes in three flavors but the Apple-Sage is my absolute favorite. Now I’ve tried a lot of meatless sausages. I’ve done the Tofurky. I’ve done the Trader Joe’s Sausage-less Sausage. But this amazing stuff from Field Roast is the most flavorful and wholesome one out there. If you think you have a contender, I’d love to hear about it since I’m always looking to broaden my vegan horizons!

Take a look at the packaging here, as well as at the ingredient list. Unlike the Trader Joe’s sausage, it isn’t filled with soy protein isolate which is a welcome deviation from most mock meat products.

The ingredient list. Not bad, right? Obviously, it’s not gluten-free. But if that’s not a problem for you, than I recommend you give this sausage a try!

This stuff cooks easily and doesn’t fall apart. It gets crispy and brown on the edges without a problem. And did I mention it tastes phenomenal? I cook mine over some olive oil and then caramelize it with some pure maple syrup. The edges get crispy and sweet and it’s a huge hit at our dinner table. My little guy, who’s almost two, just points at the sausage over and over again and says, “More, peese!”

To make this simple pasta dish that’ll satisfy even the biggest meat eater at your table, just gather together the following:

  • one box penne pasta
  • one package Field Roast sausage in Apple-Sage flavor, removed from casing and sliced
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 shallot, sliced
  • 1/3 cup sundried tomatoes, from a jar
  • 1 bunch broccolini stalks, washed, trimmed, then cut in half
  • one ear of raw corn, kernels removed
  • olive oil for cooking
  • sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Boil water and cook the penne to al dente. Once the pasta is done, turn off the heat, add the broccolini stalks to the pasta and water, cover with a lid, and allow to sit for 3 minutes. Then drain the pasta and broccolini into a colander and set aside. The broccolini should be a brilliant, bright green color.

In a large, deep saucepan, heat up some olive oil and sauté the garlic and shallot until golden. Add the sliced sausages, flipping them for an even cook, until they’re browned on both sides. Drizzle half of the maple syrup over the sausage, garlic and shallot mixture and toss to coat. Cook until the maple syrup begins to caramelize on the sausage. Then add the sundried tomatoes and corn kernels and continue to sauté, turning the mixture frequently, for another 5 minutes or so.

Add the pasta and broccolini to the sausage mixture, along with the remainder of the maple syrup and toss to coat evenly. Season with salt and pepper to taste. You can choose to add a little olive oil or the oil from the jar of sundried tomatoes if the pasta appears a little dry.

Transfer to a large serving bowl and enjoy!

Happy eating!

