Garlic White Bean Dip and Roasted Peppers

Okay, so my mouth is still tingling from my brave (or idiotic–you decide) bite of an orange Habanero pepper. I knew it’d be hot but I obviously had no idea. I popped that thing in my mouth like it was mixed nuts but boy was it anything but. Good thing I took all these photos before I dug in, or else you’d see a reflection from the pool of my tears in every single one. After that fateful bite, I did the following in the course of one minute: yelped, spat, chugged, fanned, cried, chugged, fanned, cried, chugged, jumped, ran, opened the freezer, grabbed an ice cube and sucked on it until it completely dissolved. Then I did that with two more ice cubes until I finally began to believe my tongue would indeed NOT fall off.

Anyhow, my husband said this dish was divine but honestly, I couldn’t eat a thing after my habanero episode. Has something like that ever happened to you? I mean, my gut felt like it was on fire for another hour or so and my appetite was completely singed away. But as I said, my husband raved about it, devoured the bean dip and ate almost all the peppers, making sure to enjoy the orange habaneros one cautious centimeter at a time. Smart man.

The dip is extremely easy to whip together and the peppers were a gorgeous variety that I simply drizzled with olive oil and roasted until tender and crispy on the edges. They made for a delicious  combo and looked beautiful on the table!

Watch out for the little orange ones… they bite!

Here’s what you’ll need for the dip:

  • one 14-oz can of cannellini beans, drained
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, sliced
  • 3/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • 1/2 tsp dried or freshly grated lemon peel
  • salt and pepper to taste

For the peppers:

  • a variety of small to medium peppers
  • olive oil for the peppers

dried lemon peel, ground cumin, garlic, mint and dill

To make the dip, simply blend all the ingredients in a food processor until almost smooth. Transfer to a bowl and then add a sprinkling of dill or other herb for presentation.

Meanwhile, wash the peppers and lay them on a foil-lined baking sheet. Drizzle or baste with olive oil then broil them in your oven until they are tender, glossy and slightly charred on the edges. Be sure to turn them part-way through the cooking process so they’re roasted evenly.

Serve alongside the dip and enjoy!

Happy eating!

 

 

