Matcha Run-of-the-Mill Smoothie

Matcha is all the rage these days. It refers to a finely ground, powdered, high quality green tea. The powder is used not only in drinks, but in green tea ice cream, mochi, green tea noodles and other Japanese confections. It has gained popularity due to the fact that it’s packed with antioxidants (according to Wikipedia, more than blueberries, pomegranates, orange juice and spinach!), is said to boost metabolism and help reduce cholesterol levels when enjoyed regularly. Even Starbucks and Peet’s have Matcha Green Tea drinks as permanent fixtures on their menus.

I went to Whole Foods in search of some Matcha and was a bit surprised to see how expensive the stuff is. One canister was $34. I’ve been known to splurge on ingredients before but this was too much to digest. I settled on this one by Republic of Tea that was a super steal at $16. ; ) I have big, big dreams for these one and a half ounces of powder. You just wait and see.

Once I got over the sticker shock, I had an immediate idea for a simple smoothie using the carton of vanilla soy yogurt I had in my fridge at home. The creaminess of the yogurt lends well to the matcha powder and makes for a refreshing but indulgent combo. It’s truly not your run-of-the-mill smoothie! Get it now? Oh gee, I hope so.

All you need is:

  • 2 tsp matcha powder
  • 2 cups soy vanilla yogurt
  • 1.5 tbsp agave
  • 1.5 cups crushed ice

Blend the first three ingredients in a regular blender or food processor. Once it’s smooth, add in the crushed ice and blend again. Pour into glasses and garnish with fresh blueberries. An antioxidant dream!

Happy drinking!

 

