Caramel Apple Ice Cream

I am a lover of caramel apples. Ever since I was a kid, if I ever found myself at a carnival or amusement park I’d look right past the big swirly lollipops and bags of colorful candy and go straight for the beautiful caramel apple. So smooth, so round, so deliciously sticky. I love them so much I used to buy the make-your-own candy apple kits at the grocery store and do it up in my kitchen. Only problem is those kits make about 6 apples and I’m the only one in my family who likes them! Now that I’m a vegan again, the average caramel apple is a no-go. : ( But that IS a recipe I’ll have to attempt on One Happy Table very soon. Sounds like a perfect recipe post for the fall season ahead.

In the meantime, while it’s still summer, how about some Caramel Apple Ice Cream? This concoction is a little sweet and a little salty with chunks of tender apple and gobs of sticky vegan caramel. Perfection!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • one 14-oz can coconut milk (not LITE)
  • 1-1/2 cups almond milk
  • 3/4 cup agave
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp guar or xanthan gum
  • Vegan Salted Caramel Sauce
  • one medium-sized apple (any variety), peeled, cored and cubed
  • 1/3 cup pecans, coarsely chopped

Make the ice cream base by blending or pulsing in a food processor the coconut milk, almond milk, agave, oil, salt and guar gum. Place the mixture into the refrigerator for 2-3 hours.

In the meantime, set a pot of water to boil with a steaming basket on top. Place the cubed apple into the basket, cover, and steam until tender.

The cubed apple in the steaming basket

Next, make the caramel sauce. See the recipe here.

Salted Caramel Sauce

Roast the pecans by placing them onto a pan over dry heat until they’re lightly brown and letting off a very nutty scent.

Once the ice cream base has chilled for 2-3 hours, pour it into your ice cream machine and process it based on your machine’s instructions. When it’s just about finished, add in the steamed apples and about 6 heaping tablespoons of the caramel sauce. Allow the machine to blend in those ingredients. Then scoop into bowls, sprinkle with the roasted pecans and serve!

Happy eating!

