Gona Bananas Part 1: Bananas Foster with Coconut Whip (alcohol-free)

We just returned from vacation and so our kitchen was barren, save for the vegan banana bread, vegan peach crisp, and vegan garlic noodles my Mom made and left for us knowing we’d have nothing to eat upon our return. Aren’t Mamas the best? : )

But still, I needed to get some groceries and with all three kiddos still home with me in this last week of summer break, I didn’t want to venture out to the grocery store with them in tow. Good thing Safeway delivers. As I unpacked my bagged groceries, I found that Safeway had goofed and given me three times the amount of bananas I’d ordered. I was only charged for six bananas but I received a great deal more. I knew that could only mean one thing: banana recipes galore! Here’s installment number one of a series I’ve aptly named “Gone Bananas”! I’ll be posting others in the coming days, not necessarily consecutively.

Up first is Bananas Foster. This rich, decadent dessert is usually made with rum but seeing as I had no rum and also planned on serving this to my three wee ones, I had to devise a rum substitute. A wonderful mixture of blackstrap molasses, pineapple juice and almond extract does the trick. It’s truly brilliant how much the flavor resembles rum. You have to try it! This dessert is sticky, sweet, caramelized goodness with a dollop of freshly whipped coconut cream. Heavenly!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 3 ripe bananas, peeled and sliced lengthwise and crosswise
  • 1/4 cup Earth Balance
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp blackstrap molasses
  • 1-1/2 tbsp pineapple juice
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1-1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • coconut whip

In a small bowl, whisk together the molasses, pineapple juice and almond extract until well blended. Set aside. (This is your “rum” mixture. Give it a taste!)

In a large, deep skillet over medium heat, melt the Earth Balance buttery stick. Next stir in the sugar, molasses mixture, vanilla and cinnamon. Mix together well. Once the mixture begins to bubble, lay the bananas into the skillet and cook until hot, a few minutes. Be sure to flip them over so they’re evenly coated.

Serve while hot, with a scoop of coconut whip and a sprinkling of cinnamon.

Happy eating!

