Eggless Egg Salad

 

Egg salad used to be one of my favorites. Growing up I’d beg my Dad to make a batch of his signature egg salad so I could have it in my lunch all week long. He’d always put paprika in it and those little red specks would always alert me to the fact that I was about to bite into that delicious specialty of his. Here’s a quick and easy vegan version that uses tofu but keeps those little red specks of paprika in to pay homage to my Dad’s original.

All you need is:

  • half a carton of firm tofu, drained, patted dry and cubed
  • one cup Vegenaise (vegan mayo)
  • 1 tbsp sweet relish
  • 1 tsp dijon or honey mustard
  • a dash of paprika
  • a dash of sea salt
  • a dash of black pepper

Mix all the ingredients together and place into the refrigerator, covered, to chill. I served these as an after-school snack on round whole wheat toasts (bread cut into circles with a cookie cutter, then toasted) along with others topped with jam and sunflower seeds.

Happy eating!

