Barbecue Seitan Pizza

 

Barbecue Chicken pizza used to be one of my favorites. I recently sat with a friend while he devoured a vegan version at local SF hot spot, Herbivore. Watching him eat, I just knew I had to create my own version.

This is a crazy simple meal made with almost all prepared ingredients. It’s perfect for when you don’t have a lot of time to cook an elaborate meal. My kids loved this recipe and cleared the whole pizza in a matter of minutes!

What you’ll need:

  • a prepared vegan pizza crust (or make your own!)
  • can of pizza sauce
  • one package seitan, drained, rinsed and cubed
  • 1 tbsp barbecue sauce
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 2 scallions, sliced
  • 1 cup Daiya cheese (or other vegan cheese)

In a skillet, saute the seitan until browned. Combine the barbecue sauce and maple syrup in a small bowl and pour over the seitan. Toss to coat and continue cooking until the edges are caramelized. Prepare the pizza (I don’t need to tell you how to do this, right?) with all the toppings and cook per the instructions for your pizza crust.

Happy eating!

