Spaghettios! And a’s, p’s, r’s and v’s…

 

Spaghettios are a childhood classic and favorite. I grew up on the Campbells version and now my kids eat the Annie’s Organic variety. But my third kid is allergic to dairy and so a vegan version was on my list of to-dos. I find it funny that canned versions even contain cheese since I don’t think the flavor of the cheese is even noticeable. Perhaps it’s more of a thickening agent. My version uses tomato paste to give it that thick, sweet consistency we know and love.

The ingredients for this recipe are straight-forward and arguably, even good for you. I found organic whole wheat letter pasta which made eating the dish even more fun for the kids than plain ‘ol “O’s.”

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • about 4.5 oz of pasta (I used half of a 9.25 oz box)
  • two 6-oz cans of tomate paste
  • 1 tbsp brown rice syrup
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Brown rice syrup, tomato paste and whole wheat letter pasta

Cook the pasta per the instructions on the box, drain, rinse and set aside.

Quick! Let’s play Scrabble with our food!

In a large saucepan, combine the tomato paste brown rice syrup, salt and garlic powder and mix well. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer. Add in the drained pasta and stir to combine evenly. It’s as simple, organic and healthy as that!

Happy eating!

