Strawberry-Peach Fruit Leather

My girls said it was one of the best snacks EVER.

As I was scrolling through other blog posts here on the lovely WordPress, I came across this delicious post for Homemade Fruit Leather on the blog, Lemon Zest. I fell in love with Lemon Zest’s photos of this sticky, sweet, scrumptious treat and told her I was going to make me some fruit leather that very day! She was super supportive and sweet and I hope you head over there to check out her blog. So thanks to Lemon Zest for the inspiration and recipe!

What Lemon Zest says about this recipe taking some time is definitely true. Nominal effort, but a good amount of time. But I had a few hours in the afternoon to let my leather (should I be saying “pleather”?) ; ) bake so I wasn’t complaining. And it was so nice to have a yummy, special treat for my girls when they came home from summer camp. Plus, it was super cheap to make and I knew every ingredient that was in it so all in all, I was pleased with this experiment.

I used strawberries and peaches but I’m sure you can use almost any fruit you can imagine!

Ingredients:

  • bowl of strawberries (about 2 cups), washed, trimmed and halved
  • 2 ripe peaches, skins removed
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp agave

Strawberries worked very well for this recipe but experiment with whatever fresh fruit you have lying around!

These sweet peaches were the perfect complement to the strawberries

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees. Puree the fruit in a food processor or blender. Add in the lemon juice and agave and blend until smooth. Be sure to get any large chunks blended out smoothly, scraping the sides of the bowl with a spatula if needed.

Blended fruit, lemon juice and agave. Look at that delicious color!

Line two baking sheets with parchment. If you’d like, you can even spray a little nonstick cooking spray onto the parchment for good measure. Spread half the mixture onto one baking sheet and spread it with a spatula into an even layer. Do the same with the other half of the mixture on the second baking sheet.

Spreading the fruit

Place the cookie sheets into the oven. I set mine to 200 but Lemon Zest shares that you may need to set yours anywhere between 140 and 200 depending on your oven. To be safe, you can always start lower and then increase the temperature if it looks safe to do so. My leather cooked for about 4 hours on 200, with me going back to check every now and then and setting the timer for 30 minute intervals so I wouldn’t forget about it. Eventually, you should be able to press the back of a spoon into the fruit and make a depression without picking up any of the fruit. *Please note that the thinner parts will cook faster than the thicker parts so be sure to spread it evenly when you’re at that step. If some of the edges end up thinner, don’t worry because they break apart like “fruit chips” as Lemon Zest puts it and those are just as delicious as the leather.

When the leather is finished, take it out and allow it to cool completely. Then peel it off the parchment.

Peeling the cooled leather off the parchment paper

Most of mine came off in strips with some thinner pieces breaking up into “fruit chips.” But 100% of it was delicious and gobbled up by my kids in no time.

Happy Eating!

