Cornmeal Breaded Tofu with Raspberry-Chili Sauce

I usually prepare my tofu with an Asian Persuasion but this evening I wanted to do something different. A recipe I found online for cornmeal breaded tofu was exactly what I was looking for. This dish is hearty and hearthy (if that’s even a word). What I mean is, it feels like the kind of meal you’d eat in front of a flickering fire, served on an old, distressed farm table by the light of a lone oil lamp. It could be served to villagers back from a long day’s hunt (for wild veggies, of course) and they’d be rubbing their tummies with satisfaction afterward.

Okay, so I’ve drawn you the mental picture. Now for the ingredients.

For the tofu:

  • a bit of oil
  • 1 package firm or extra firm tofu, well pressed to remove moisture
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup corn meal
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

For the raspberry sauce:

  • 3 oz frozen raspberries
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • dash of black pepper

This tofu can be baked or pan-fried. I baked them and it was a bit of a task to remove them from the baking pan without tearing off their cornmeal crusts. While I didn’t use parchment, I’d suggest you do to help avoid this problem. Or you can pan-fry which at a higher, direct heat should solve the problem too.

Preheat the oven to 400 and lightly brush a baking pan with oil or line with parchment. Slice the tofu into thick, rectangular slabs. Combine the nutritional yeast, flour corn meal and spices until well mixed.

Place the tofu in the cornmeal mixture a couple of pieces at a time and coat well. Then place them on the baking sheet.

The tofu, coated with corn meal before baking

Bake for 10-15 minutes or until lightly golden and then carefully flip them (I used a wide spatula and rubberized tongs) and bake for another 5-10 minutes or until golden and crispy.

To make the raspberry-chili sauce, simply combine all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and then heat in a small saucepan if desired.

I served our tofu with rosemary-garlic quinoa and a side of sauteed sugar snap peas and carrots with toasted sesame seeds.

Happy eating!

