Simple “Chicken” Noodle Soup

With 2/3 of my children desperately sick, a simple yet hearty  “chicken” noodle soup was the only answer. When I was a kid home sick from school, my Mom used to always open a can of Campbell’s Chicken and Stars or Progresso’s Italian Wedding Soup with those little meatballs. Both bring back good memories. Sitting in our TV room slurping the soup, sipping ginger ale (which she always gave me when I was home sick) and watching unlimited TV. Ah, the good ol’ days.

For today’s extremely simple recipe, I used bouillon cubes which I don’t normally cook with. But this vegan Bouillon from the company Rapunzel is so incredibly delicious I just have to share about it. Not sure which stores might sell it where you are but I find it at a local chain in the Bay Area called Mollie Stone’s. If you can’t find these amazing cubes in your local store, then try a blend of the ingredients contained therein: basil, parsley, garlic, turmeric, lovage, celery, dill and sea salt.

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups water
  • 4 cubes of Rapunzel’s vegan bouillon
  • about 10 baby carrots, sliced as circles
  • one box of seitan, rinsed and cut into shreds
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 box of pasta (8 oz)

Bring the water to a boil in a large soup pot then add the bouillon and stir until dissolved.

In a small frying pan, saute the shredded seitan in a little olive oil until it browns.

Bring a pot of water to boil for the pasta and cook until al dente.

Place the cooked seitan and drained pasta into the soup pot along with the carrots and simmer until the carrots are tender.

Happy eating!

