Banana Coconut French Toast with Blueberry-Cherry Compote

Ahhh, French Toast. Also known as my husband’s favorite meal and the thing I used to love to order at diners where it’s served with a sticky carafe of maple “flavored’ syrup and the waitress calls you “Hon” while refilling your coffee, getting 60% into the mug and the rest onto the table. That image just makes me feel all warm inside.

French Toast, like the traditional version of my Sweetly Simple Crepes, was one of those dishes I considered to be a thing of the past now that I’m a vegan. As you know, it’s traditionally made with milk and eggs. But a strong craving for a “breakfast food for dinner” night at our house inspired me to google my options for a vegan version of this diner classic. I found a great recipe for Banana Coconut French Toast to which I added a yummy Blueberry-Cherry Compote as a fun deviation from maple syrup. Dinner was a huge hit and the kids most certainly did their part to ensure there were no leftovers.

Here’s what you’ll need for the French Toast:

  • a loaf of bread, sliced (I used a French loaf)
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 cup coconut milk (make sure to shake the can well before opening and measuring out)
  • 3/4 cups soy milk
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Earth Balance for frying
And for the compote:
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries
  • 1 cup fresh cherries (cut slices of the meat off the pits)
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp grated orange zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp agar agar flakes (optional)

To make the French Toast mixture, mash the bananas well and whisk together with the coconut milk, soy milk, sugar and cinnamon. Pour into a shallow pan or bowl. Dip both sides of each bread slice into the mixture and cook in a lightly buttered skillet over medium heat. Cook until both sides are golden. I place what I’ve cooked in a pan in the oven at 250 to keep them warm until I’ve finished cooking all the pieces.

To make the compote, heat the blueberries, cherries, orange juice, sugar, orange zest and vanilla in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Cook and stir until the sugar dissolves and the berries soften. This should take about 15-20 minutes. Add in the agar agar flakes (this serves to thicken the compote but if you don’t mind it runny, you can skip this step) and bring to a boil, the reduce to simmer for another 5-10 minutes, stirring often.

When you’re ready to serve, pour the warm compote over the French Toast and sprinkle with some vegan powdered sugar.

Happy eating!

