Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

I recently made dinner for a friend who’s trying to watch it with the carbs. This fresh deviation from mashed potatoes fit the bill. I served it alongside seared tofu steaks and a carrot-snow pea-slivered almonds medley.

Cauliflower seems to strike a sensitive chord in a lot of people. I find that people feel strongly for or against the brainy-looking vegetable. I’ve always loved it but my Mom made it a lot when we were kids so my experiences with it have always been good. Nowadays you can often find it prepared in a variety of inventive ways. Personally I’ve had it roasted as florets, grilled as steaks, pureed as soup, and sliced and baked as a gratin.

This recipe for mashed cauliflower may not be as inventive, but it’s super tasty and goes over well with little kids which is of utmost importance in our household.

To make this dish, simply wash and cut a head of cauliflower into small-medium florets. Place them into boiling water for abut 8-10 minutes or until tender. Drain and place them into a food processor along with 3-4 tbsp vegan butter, 1-2 tsp of garlic powder, sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. Serve right away with a sprinkling of chives.

Happy eating!

