Quick Chinese Tofu Salad

A friend stopped over for lunch and I had all that extra iceberg lettuce from yesterday’s post to deal with. My friend (who is also a vegan) is a huge fan of a Chinese Tofu Salad made famous in our area by a local restaurant. So I thought I’d do my best to make my friend her favorite lunch with the ingredients I had on hand.

This salad is simply iceberg lettuce, baked tofu (I use Wildwood Organic brand), scallions and dressing. It doesn’t have the typical fried noodles or mandarin oranges but you know what? It totally didn’t need it. The dressing is so flavorful that you don’t feel like anything’s missing. We both cleaned our bowls.

Slice the lettuce into shreds and place into a large mixing bowl. Dice up some baked tofu (I had Wildwood’s Teriyaki flavor on hand) and throw that in as well. Slice up some scallions and add it to the mix.

In another bowl, make the salad dressing. Mix together 2 tbsp brown sugar, 2 tsp soy sauce, 1 tbsp sesame oil, 1/4 cup vegetable oil, 3 tbsp rice vinegar and 1 tbsp sesame seeds. Whisk it all together until well-blended, then pour over the lettuce and toss to coat evenly. Serve into bowls and it’s lunchtime!

Happy eating!

