Japanese Seaweed Salad

One of my favorite items to order at a Japanese restaurant, I am often frustrated that it can cost up to $5 for a tiny plate of delicious seaweed salad. I just love the delicate flavors, the crunchy yet smooth texture and the fact that seaweed is filled with vitamins, minerals, omega 3s, omega 6 and anti-oxidants. It’s a little salad with a big impact! My kids seem to love it too. I told them it’s the same stuff The Little Mermaid eats and they were sold.

I found a pouch of dried seaweed at our local Asian food market. To my delight and surprise, the seaweed contained therein was of various colors and shapes. The seaweed salads I normally eat in restaurants are made with the green and clear varieties but this stuff had red and dark green varieties as well. Exciting!

First soak the seaweed in a bowl of tepid water until it’s at the level of softness you prefer. For me, this was about 10 minutes. While you wait, whisk together 3 tbsp unseasoned rice vinegar, 3 tbsp soy sauce, 1 tbsp sesame oil, 1 tsp sugar, a dash of red pepper flakes and 1 tsp finely grated ginger. When the seaweed is done soaking, drain the water and toss the seaweed with this mixture. Then fold in 2-3 thinly sliced scallions and 1 tbsp toasted sesame seeds.

Put the whole salad mixture into a covered container and refrigerate until chilled. When ready to serve, plate the salad and garnish with some more sliced scallions.

Happy eating!

 

