Fruit Dippers with Raw Almond-Agave Butter

Here’s another fun, fast, simple and delicious after-school snack idea! You know I’m always looking for ways to make healthy eating fun for my kids (and yours!) and for some reason, sticking things onto mini skewers instantly makes them more delicious in the eyes of children. Although I’ll admit I ate quite a few of these myself so I guess the trick works for adults, too.

As you probably know, almonds are high in protein and heart-healthy fats, but low in carbohydrates. Most of these nutritional benefits come from the raw skins of the almonds so when you eat raw almond butter, you’re still getting the bulk of those nutrients.

For this snack, simply cut up fruit (I used apples, strawberries and blueberries) and place onto mini wooden skewers. Then take about 3 heaping tbsp of raw almond butter and stir in about 2 tsp agave to sweeten. Place into a cute little dipping bowl and you’ve got yourself an after-school hit.

Happy eating!

