Garlic Tofu Soup

My husband and I are sick. A horrid cold struck us both this morning. The day was spent sending texts back and forth, comparing symptoms and offering support. We just spent a good amount of our evening debating over whether it’s worse to be sick when your kids are all healthy, or healthy when your kids are all sick. We’re undecided.

But I knew there could only be one thing for dinner: soup. Simple, slightly savory -slightly sweet, soothing soup. I know a lot of people consider soup an appetizer or side to the main course but in this house, a pot of yummy soup a full meal doth make. The kids were clinking their Chinese porcelain spoons in delight.

This soup is easy and straightforward. I emptied a carton of vegetable broth (I used the Pacific brand) into the soup pot and threw in about 1/2 cup of minced carrots and 6 cloves of minced garlic. Bring the soup to a boil and then lower to simmer. Add in a carton of cubed silken or medium-soft tofu. Stir in about 2 tbsp sugar and freshly ground black pepper and sea salt to taste. When you’re ready to serve, garnish with some sliced green onion.

Now it’s time for my husband and I to flop on the couch, sip our honey-lemon tonics and watch some Portlandia. At least we’re sick together.

Happy slurping!

