Mama’s Peach Cobbler

This is the peach cobbler my Mama used to make when we were little. I have such good memories of sitting at the counter while she prepared it, waiting for her to hand me the big wooden spoon, dripping with goopy, peachy goodness. I would lick that thing til I had splinters on my tongue. This peach cobbler has gotten me through some rough times. She’d make it for me when I was home from school, sick with a cold. She’d make it when a boy broke my tender teenage heart. She’d make it on a bad test day, a bad game day, or a bad time-of-the-month day. But she’d also make it for our family when we’d gather around the coffee table by the fireplace to play board games together. Nothing beats family time with peach cobbler and a big scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.

While my Mama never made it vegan, I’ll let you know the vegan version tastes just as scrumptious.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 15-oz cans of sliced peaches (in 100% juice)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp corn starch
  • 1 cup all-purpose, unbleached flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 heaping tbsp non-hydrogenated vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk of your choice (I used soy)

First, preheat the oven to 400. Pour the sliced peaches, along with their juice, into a pot. Add the cinnamon and corn starch. Mix well and cook over medium-high heat until the mixture thickens and boils for one minute. Pour the mixture into a casserole dish or individual ramekins.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add the vegetable shortening and non-dairy milk. Mix with a fork until the batter is even. You’ll have to especially make sure that the shortening is blended in well. Once the batter is even, place as dumplings onto the peach mixture. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Serve with a big scoop of non-dairy vanilla bean ice cream for dessert or just garnish with strawberries and powdered sugar as I did here and serve it for breakfast. : )

Happy eating!

