Sweetly Simple Crepes

When my husband and I were dating as college students, we took a trip to Paris on a student’s budget. We couldn’t afford much but we made sure not to go a single day without eating chocolate crepes. Certain things really do just taste better in France!

Now that I’m a vegan, I assumed some things were just off the list for good. Traditionally butter and egg-laden crepes included. But thank goodness there are tons of other vegans out there, pushing the limits of vegan cooking and graciously sharing their findings throughout the blogosphere. And so I give you vegan crepes –ridiculously simple to make and a huge hit around the table. I served these for breakfast as a special treat and the girls shared and demolished three of them in quick succession. When I turned off the stovetop burner, one of my daughters let out a disappointed sigh and then asked, “Mommy? Can we eat these for breakfast EVERY day?”

So whether you serve these for dessert or for a very special breakfast treat, you will not be disappointed.

In a large mixing bowl, blend 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/4 cup melted soy margarine, 1 tbsp sugar, 2 tbsp maple syrup, 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour, and 1/4 tsp salt. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 2 hours. I made the batter the night before and then took it out of the fridge when I woke up the next morning. It was the perfect consistency when I started making them for breakfast!

Lightly grease a medium-sized skillet with some soy margarine. Heat until hot then pour about 3 tbsp of batter onto the skillet. Lift the skillet so the batter swirls around and covers the entire bottom. Cook until it starts to solidify then place toppings inside (we used vegan chocolate chips and thinly sliced strawberries and bananas), and fold the ends over. Slide it carefully onto a plate and garnish as you wish. I used powdered sugar and some slice almonds, then placed a few strawberries from our garden on the side.

Strawberries from our garden

Happy eating!

