Pan-Seared Tofu in Sweet Soy Sauce

When I was little, my Mom used to make me pan-seared tofu as a snack when I got home from school. It always tasted so good to have something warm and salty after a long day. I’d sit at the counter and eat it while watching reruns of Small Wonder. Great memories.

This is such a simple little dish but a nice one for entertaining. It’s packed with protein and has a subtly sweet flavor. It’s meant to be shared family-style.

Cut a slab of soft (firm could work too) tofu into four blocks. Pan-sear in olive oil til brown and a little crispy. Turn to sear both sides. In saucepan, combine 2 tbsps mirin, 2 tbsps soy sauce, 1 tbsp sugar and 7 tbsps water. Heat til just boiling. Pour sauce over tofu and sprinkle with chives and toasted sesame seeds.

Happy eating!

