Black Sesame Ice Cream

Oh, this has got to be my favorite ice cream flavor in the world! Well, perhaps it’s tied with Mint Chocolate Chip but it’s okay to have two favorites, right?

I can find Black Sesame ice cream every now and then… usually at a Japanese restaurant or in Japan Town in San Francisco. But now that I’m back to eating vegan, even those rare sightings won’t do me any good. But look no further! Here’s a Black Sesame Ice Cream recipe that’s super delish and vegan to boot! My Dad, who doesn’t tend so say much when he eats my cooking, took one bite, then another, and then another and said, “You should definitely make this again. Definitely.”

I could’t find black sesame powder at Whole Foods but they did have black sesame seeds. Check your local Asian market if you have one, but even if you can only find the seeds as I did, it’s simple enough to grind them into a powder and go from there.

The black sesame seeds I found at Whole Foods

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 cups black sesame seeds or powder (pulse the seeds in a food processor to make a powder)
  • one 14-oz can coconut milk (not LITE)
  • 1-1/2 cups almond milk
  • 3/4 cup agave
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp guar gum or xanthan

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, mixing well, and place into the refrigerator for 3 hours minimum. When it’s sufficiently chilled, prepare it in your ice cream machine. You will love the nutty, toasty, rich flavor of the sesame seeds in this sophisticated dessert!

Happy eating!

