Chocolate Peanut Butter Bliss Bars

Just admit that you want to lick your computer screen right now. I won’t judge.

A neighbor friend made a version of these for a Memorial Day barbecue at her house. They were a huge hit and according to my friend, approximately 50,000 Weight Watchers points. I asked her for the recipe so I could try and veganize it.

It took me two tries and still, they’re not exactly the consistency of the original recipe but they are nonetheless delicious, decadent and extremely addictive.

The basic recipe is easily veganizeable (don’t you love my vegan lexicon?) but it’s the addition of sweetened condensed milk to the chocolate chips that threw me for a loop. I tried substituting a can of coconut milk but it left the chocolate too runny. It was still awesomely good and my family ate the entire pan, but I wanted to give it another go to try and get the chocolate a little more firm. I found this recipe for vegan sweetened condensed milk that I was pretty thrilled about because of how simple it was to make. It took awhile for it to thicken up for me so don’t be dismayed if it seems to take longer for you than you expected. Here’s the final result and an idea of what the consistency should be:

Once I’d made the vegan sweetened condensed milk, I was ready to give the recipe another try. As I said before, the consistency of the chocolate is still different from what my neighbor’s looked like but once you refrigerate it for a bit, it cuts into squares rather nicely. And again, the taste is spectacular.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 box of vegan cake mix (I used Dr. Oetker’s vanilla cake mix found at Whole Foods).

1/2 cup Earth Balance buttery stick, melted

1 cup creamy peanut butter

Equivalent of 2 eggs with Ener-G egg replacer

1 12-oz package of vegan chocolate chips

14 ounces of theĀ vegan sweetened condensed milk (recipe calls for 2 cans of coconut milk and 1/2 cup agave)

2 tbsp Earth Balance buttery stick

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 325. Combine cake mix, melted butter, peanut butter and egg replacement mixture (premixed) in a large bowl and mix well into it becomes a consistent dough. Press this into a 9 x 13 pan reserving 1 1/2 cups of the dough to crumble on top later.

In a small pot, melt the chocolate chips, sweetened condensed milk and butter. Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla. Spread the chocolate mixture over the dough in the pan and then evenly crumble the remaining 1 1/2 cups of dough on top. It should look something like this:

Bake for 30 minutes and then allow to cool. Place it into the refrigerator until the chocolate firms up. Cut into squares and serve.

Oh, and in the end, you’ll be left with a tad more of that yummy vegan sweetened condensed milk. What to do with it, you say? Especially since most recipes call for 14 ounces? Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post and you’ll have all your concerns taken care of. ; )

Happy eating!

13 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Bliss Bars

  1. Pingback: Creamsicle Quencher | One Happy Table

  2. yes, I want to lick the screen! :) I also tried that recipe for vegan condensed milk & loved it too! :) Your bars are going to be a huge success! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! xxx

  3. These look delicious! I am so glad my sweetened condensed milk worked for you and I look forward to seeing what you do with the leftovers (so many many great uses for SCM!). xoxo

Talk to me!

